Inside the Author’s Studio with Iain Reading

  1. Sketch of working little people with book.

    What is your favorite word?  My favorite word must be “sublime.” I love when things are so amazing, so incredible, so beyond everything that they are . . . sublime!

  2. What is your least favorite word?  That would have to be “inimical.” The meaning of inimical is nothing like it sounds. Am I right?

  3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually, or emotionally?  I am always impressed by really exceptional (really sublime) creative works (and also a bit jealous). Whether in books, music, film, whatever. When something is really well done I am always inspired.

  4. What turns you off?  Novelty songs turn me off. I think if you’re going to create a piece of music, then be serious about it. Don’t make a stupid novelty song.

  5. What is your favorite curse word?  What is my favorite? Or what one do I use most often? I think my favorite would be “balderdash” but I don’t think I’ve ever spoken it aloud. Like most people I am unimaginative when cursing and stick to the basics.

  6. What sound or noise do you love?  Have you ever heard the sound of a gong being lowered into water? That is a sound that I love.

  7. What sound or noise do you hate?  Saxophones. I hate saxophones.

  8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?  I already attempted to be a musician. It didn’t work out, sadly.

  9. What profession would you not like to do?  Hmmmmmmmmm. I don’t think I’d like to be a pilot or any kind of airplane crew. Too much time in airplanes and airports.

  10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?  I’d like to hear God say: “Oops, sorry, it wasn’t your time yet. We’re sending you back.”

KH New Cover.jpg

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new young adult series of adventure mystery stories by Iain Reading. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations.

After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales, Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty’s adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada. As the plot continues to unfold, this spirited story will have readers anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada’s Yukon. 

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is a perfect book to fire the imagination of readers of all ages. Filled with fascinating and highly Google-able locations and history this book will inspire anyone to learn and experience more for themselves.

There are currently five books in the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (book 1), Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost (book 2), Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue (book 3), and Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic (book 4), and Kitty Hawk and the Mystery of the Masterpieces (book 5).

“In the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series the heroine finds herself in a new geographic location in each book. The series will eventually have a total of 13 books in it (maybe more) and her flight around the world will be completed in the end,” says Iain. “The books are sequential but one could definitely read any of the later ones before reading the earlier ones.”

More information  |  Book Trailer

About the Author
Iain ReadingIain Reading is passionate about Root Beer, music, and writing. He is Canadian, but currently resides in the Netherlands working for the United Nations.

Iain is the author of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series, The Wizards of Waterfire Series, and the dragon of the month club. Learn more here.

Connect with Iain on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.